Mayor’s Office

The City of Groton, a political subdivision of the Town of Groton, was incorporated in 1903 as the Borough of Groton. A new form of government was adopted in 1964 and the name was changed to the City of Groton. The City of Groton comprises 3.06 square miles of area, 28.65 miles of improved streets and 4.9 miles of State of Connecticut highways. We are governed by a strong mayor and six councilors elected at large that are the policy makers. There are many appointed boards and commissions.

The Thames River bounds the City on the west and Long Island Sound on the south. The City is about 3.1 square miles in area and has a population of nearly 10,000. We enjoy a large industrial base. Housing ranges from historic homes to new apartments. The Avery Point branch of the University of Connecticut and its Marine Science program are located in the southern part of the City. There are many recreational facilities including a public beach, baseball fields and walking trails.

We offer a full range of municipal services: paid fire department, police, trash collection and more. The City of Groton is a public power community. We provide electric and water to our residents and others at rates at or below those offered to surrounding communities.


Contact Information

Office Hours: Monday – Friday: 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM

Telephone: 860.446.4103

Address: 295 Meridian Street, Groton, CT

Mayor: Keith Hedrick
Executive Administrator: Suzanne Theroux
Deputy Mayor: Gweneviere Depot



Services & Information

HTML Snippets Powered By :