Leaf Collection

2023 FALL LEAF COLLECTION

Leaves-in-a-bagLeaves will be collected throughout the City of Groton on the following dates

  • Wednesday, October 25, 2023
  • Wednesday, November 1, 2023
  • Wednesday, November 8, 2023
  • Wednesday, November 15, 2023
  • Wednesday, November 22, 2023 - No Leaf Collection
  • Wednesday, November 29, 2023
  • Wednesday, December 6, 2023 (Final Leaf Collection for Fall)

2024 SPRING LEAF COLLECTION

Leaves will be collected throughout the City of Groton on the following dates

  • Wednesday, April 17, 2024
  • Wednesday, April 24, 2024
  • Wednesday, May 1 2024
  • Wednesday, May 8, 2024
  • Wednesday, May 15, 2024
  • Wednesday, May 22, 2024 (Final Leaf Collection for Spring)

2024 FALL LEAF COLLECTION

Leaves will be collected throughout the City of Groton on the following dates

  • Wednesday, October 23, 2024
  • Wednesday, October 30, 2024
  • Wednesday, November 6, 2024
  • Wednesday, November 13, 2024
  • Wednesday, November 20, 2024
  • Wednesday, November 27, 2024 - No Leaf Collection
  • Wednesday, December 4, 2024 (Final Leaf Collection for Fall)

IMPORTANT

  • Place leaves only in biodegradable paper bags, trashcans, or cardboard boxes not larger than thirty-five (35) gallons.
  • Do not use plastic bags - leaves will not be collected.
  • Grass clippings will not be collected. Compost or mulch on your lawn. Do not blow into the street.
  • Do not sweep leaves into the street. Leaves accumulate in the catch basins and clog them up creating drainage problems.
  • Place tree twigs or hedge trimmings in with regular trash.

OTHER DATES

If you missed the spring or fall pickup dates you can call the City of Groton Public Works Department to schedule a pickup. All pickups are on Wednesdays and can be scheduled by calling us at 860-446-4127 a week in advance of the desired pickup date.

TRANSFER STATION INFORMATION

You may bring your bagged leaves to the Town of Groton Transfer Station to be composted.

  • Leaves in plastic bags must be emptied when brought to the resident drop-off area.
  • Leaves in biodegradable paper bags may be left bagged.

For additional transfer station information, contact the Town of Groton Public Works Department at 448-4083 or visit the Town of Groton website.

Call the City of Groton, Public Works Department at 446-4127 with questions.